Iberian Strings 2021
January 19-22

Online meeting organized at
Instituto Superior Técnico,
Lisboa, Portugal



The Iberian Strings 2021 meeting is the twelfth meeting of the Iberian Strings series, superseding previous editions of the Workshop on Gravitational Aspects of Strings and Branes and of Northwest Strings. These meetings bring together a large part of the string theory community of Spain and Portugal with the aim of discussing and sharing recent advances in the field of strings and branes. However, all string theorists working elsewhere too are highly welcome to participate in the meeting.

Iberian Strings 2021 is organized by Instituto Superior Técnico (Lisbon, Portugal) and will be an online conference running from January 19 till January 22, 2021.  This will be the third time that IST has the pleasure of hosting Iberian Strings, after already having hosted Iberian Strings 2013 and of Iberian Strings 2017.

The present edition will feature 8 invited one-hour review lectures as well as a considerable number of shorter (30 minute) talks by participants.  The review lecturers are listed below. PhD students are especially encouraged to participate in the meeting

In addition, this edition of Iberian Strings will feature two outreach colloquia on the experimental and theoretical aspects of the Physics Nobel Prize 2020, by Frank Eisenhauer (Max-Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, Garching) and Roberto Emparan (ICREA, Barcelona). The links to the two outreach colloquia are here and here.

Interested researchers can register to participate through the Registration page. Upon registration, participants will receive a Zoom access password for the online sessions. 

To apply for a short talk, please follow the instructions under Contacts. The deadline for submission of abstracts is January 4.

This conference is supported by CAMGSD.


  • Johanna Erdmenger (Würzburg)
  • Jerome Gauntlett (London)
  • Yang-Hui He (City, University of London & University of Oxford)
  • Thomas Mertens (Ghent)
  • Malcolm Perry (Cambridge)
  • Daniel Hernández Ruipérez (Salamanca)
  • Lárus Thorlacius (Reykjavík)
  • Timo Weigand (Hamburg)

Online Outreach Colloquia on the Nobel Prize in Physics 2020

                                     Zoom Link For Colloquia (No Password Required)


Scientific Committee

  • Igor Bandos (Bilbao) 
  • José Barbon (Madrid)
  • Miguel Costa (Porto)
  • José Edelstein (Santiago de Compostela)
  • Roberto Emparan (Barcelona)
  • Bert Janssen (Granada)
  • Karl Landsteiner (Madrid) 
  • María A. Lledó (Valencia)
  • Esperanza Lopez (Madrid)
  • Yolanda Lozano (Oviedo)
  • Fernando Marchesano (Madrid)
  • Javier Mas (Santiago de Compostela)
  • Patrick Meessen (Oviedo)
  • Miguel Vazquez-Mozo (Salamanca)
  • Tomás Ortín (Madrid)
  • Alfonso Ramallo (Santiago de Compostela)
  • Rafael Hernandez Redondo (Madrid) 
  • Angel Uranga (Madrid)


  • Gabriel Lopes Cardoso, IST, Lisbon
  • Suresh Nampuri, IST, Lisbon